The Abbotsford Character Council is a group of passionate community leaders that meets five times per year with the goal of finding ways to intentionally promote the identified Abbotsford character values within the community.

The elected Board of Directors meet semi-monthly.

 2019 Meetings

September 12th, 2019 (AGM)
November 14th, 2019 (Speaker)
January 16th, 2020 (Field Trip)
March 12th, 2020 (Business Meeting)
May 14th, 2020 (Awards)

All Meetings from 11:45am - 1:30pm


Board of Directors


Vijay Manuel
Head of MEI Schools

Vice Chair

Shelly Avram
RDM Lawyers LLP


Jory Smallenberg
UBC Masters Student


Bev Olfert
Executive Director,
Abbotsford Youth Commission


Sir James Barlow
Bell Mobility


Wendy Neufeld
Abbotsford Community Foundation


School District 34

Character Council Members

Shelly Avram*
RDM Lawyers LLP

Sir James Barlow*
Bell Mobility

Don Beer
Chief, Fire Rescue Service

Christine Bomhof
Executive Director, Abbotsford Restorative Justice

Henry Braun

Tanya Curtis
General Manager, Highstreet

Carla Danielsson
Assistant Superintendent, School District No. 34

Carly Ferguson
Publisher, Abbotsford News

Nova Hopkins
Graphic Designer and Brand Consultant

Shairose Jinnah
Director - Child, Youth & Family Services, Community Services

Dr. Joanne MacLean
President & Vice-Chancellor, University of the Fraser Valley

Vijay Manuel*
Head of MEI Schools

Wendy Neufeld
Executive Director, Abbotsford Community Foundation

Mike Novakowski
Staff Sgt, Abbotsford Police Department

Bev Olfert*
Executive Director, Abbotsford Youth Commission

Rhonda Pauls
Trustee, Abbotsford Board of Education

School District 34

Mike Serr
Police Chief

Dave Sidhu
Indo-Canadian Business Association

Julius Siebenga
Executive Director, Abbotsford Christian Schools

Jory Smallenberg*
UBC Student

Gina Vanderheide
Fieldhouse Brewery

*Board of Directors